U.S. wholesale distribution channels, supplier verification, import compliance, and commercial freight operations.

Supplier Research

Health and Beauty Wholesale: Check the Documents

Copy the catalog SKU, UPC and pack, the name on the cosmetic label, and the seller's claims. Leave FDA papers and batch lines blank until you have them.

Matte pump bottles and cream jars on a worn metal table, beside a closed carton and a blank clipboard with a pencil
Matte pump bottles and cream jars on a worn metal table, beside a closed carton and a blank clipboard.

Direct answer

Before you pay for a cosmetic on a health and beauty wholesale listing, copy that listing's SKU, UPC, pack count, and price, copy the name on the product label, and copy the seller's own sentences. Leave facility papers, product-listing papers, brand authorization, and batch lines blank until a document for this order fills them. A registration number is not FDA approval, and the FDA says it does not issue a certificate, letter, or email to prove registration, listing, or an exemption.

Key takeaways

  • Copy SKU, UPC, pack count, and price from the listing you are buying. Those fields do not fill registration, listing, authorization, or batch.
  • The responsible person is the manufacturer, packer, or distributor whose name is on the cosmetic label. Confirm that entity directly from the physical packaging before completing the record.
  • FDA's September 9, 2026 update says a facility registration number or a product listing number is not FDA approval, and the agency does not issue the proof letters platforms sometimes request.
  • A seller's sentence that its goods are authentic is that seller's claim. It does not fill the authorization cell.
  • The small-business exemption on the FDA registration page does not state a sales figure in the passage read here. Leave the threshold blank, and stop this record if the item is a drug or a device.

Treating a catalog UPC as approval can waste the payment when the carton arrives without a name on the label and without a batch record you can match. Before you pay for a cosmetic on a health and beauty wholesale listing, copy that listing’s SKU, UPC, pack count, and price, copy the name on the product label, and copy the seller’s own sentences, then leave facility papers, product-listing papers, brand authorization, and batch lines blank until a document for this order fills them.

This page is for a reseller checking documents on a cosmetic from a U.S. health and beauty wholesale listing. It gives you a purchase record. National Wholesalers is an independent publication. We do not sell cosmetics, register facilities, or write to sellers for you. Checks that apply to any supplier sit with the other supplier research guides.

Field What to write Where it comes from
Seller The business that would invoice this order The listing and the invoice name
Product The item name on this order The listing and the unit you receive
Catalog SKU The seller’s SKU for this line The listing
UPC The UPC printed on the listing The listing
Pack Pack count and inner count, as written The listing
Price on the listing The price and the date you copied it The listing, with the capture date
Name on the label The manufacturer, packer, or distributor named on the cosmetic label The label on the unit
Responsible person That label name, if you are using FDA’s definition The label, checked against the definition below
Facility registration number The number, only if a document for this order shows it A document other than a certificate the FDA says it does not issue
Product listing number The number, only if a document for this order shows it The same limit
Seller’s authenticity sentence The seller’s words, labeled as that seller’s claim The seller’s page or email
Brand authorization The brand’s written scope for this product and this seller A document from the brand or the seller, for this order
Batch or lot The code on this shipment, if the seller or the package gives one The package or the seller’s written reply
Date on the package Whatever date is printed, without treating it as a universal rule The package
Exemption Whether anyone claims a small-business or other exemption, and the basis they wrote The seller’s written reply for this product
Still open Every blank line Your notes, until the seller answers

Copy the catalog line and stop there

A health and beauty wholesale catalog can show a SKU, a UPC, a pack, and a price and still say nothing about who is named on the label. On Contarmarket’s health and beauty wholesale collection, captured October 11, 2026, a price line reads “Always - Thin Regular Liners, Fresh Scent 20 Ct - 24 Pack” at $34.00, with a regular price of $36.05, beside the pack line “24 Pack 24 × 20 ct”. That price line sits near “SKU 08279 · UPC 037000082798”. Later on the same capture, the quantity controls labeled with the Fresh Scent 20 count, 24 pack are followed by “SKU 08280 · UPC 037000426899” and “$1.42 /Ea”. The page does not say that the $34.00 line and SKU 08280 are one field, so copy them as two separate strings. A different line, “Always Radiant FlexFoam Overnight Pads with Wings, Scented, Size 4 20 Ct – 3 Pack”, states “Minimum required quantity: 2 units”. The same capture also names “Aquaphor Healing Ointment Skin Protectant” and Arm & Hammer deodorant packs.

An open carton of plain white jars beside a blank sheet of paper and a pencil on a dark table.
An open carton of plain white jars beside a blank sheet of paper and a pencil.

Those strings are catalog fields on that collection. They do not include a facility registration number, a product listing number, the name of a responsible person, a batch code, or a written brand authorization. The collection mixes liners, an ointment, and deodorant with the rest of a health and beauty list. This page does not assign a drug, device, or cosmetic category to those named items. Copy the SKU, UPC, pack, price, and any minimum from the listing for the item you are buying, and request any unprinted compliance fields from the supplier before ordering.

Common mistake: Pasting a UPC into the authorization cell or the FDA cell because the catalog looked complete.

Takeaway: The catalog line fills SKU, UPC, pack, price, and a stated minimum. It does not fill the label name, the registration number, or brand authorization.

Copy the name on the cosmetic label

FDA’s registration and listing page, captured October 11, 2026, uses two roles. Owners or operators of facilities that manufacture or process cosmetic products generally register those facilities and renew the registration every two years. The responsible person for each marketed cosmetic product lists the product with the FDA, including product ingredients, and provides updates annually.

The same page defines responsible person as the manufacturer, packer, or distributor of a cosmetic product whose name appears on the label of that cosmetic product, under section 609(a) of the FD&C Act or section 4(a) of the Fair Packaging and Labeling Act. The definition points at the name on the label. Copy that name from the unit you are buying. If the label is not in front of you, the cell stays blank. A reseller whose name is not the name on the label is outside that definition. Do not write your own shop name into the responsible-person cell to make the row look finished.

A plain cream jar with no printing, next to a blank card and a pencil on a wood table.
A plain cream jar with no printing, next to a blank card and a pencil.

The registration page also says MoCRA exempts certain small businesses from facility registration and product listing. The passage read for this page does not state a sales figure for that exemption, so the threshold cell stays blank. The same passage says the exemption does not apply to facilities that manufacture or process, or to responsible persons for, products that regularly come into contact with the mucus membrane of the eye under customary use, products that are injected, products intended for internal use, or products intended to alter appearance for more than 24 hours where removal by the consumer is not part of customary use. It also says exemptions exist for certain products and facilities that are subject to requirements for drugs and devices. Whether your item is one of those cases is a blank until you have the product and a written basis. This record stops if the seller or the label says the item is a drug or a device.

Takeaway: Write the name that is on the cosmetic label. Leave the responsible-person cell blank when you do not have that label.

Keep a registration number out of the approval box

On September 9, 2026, FDA’s constituent update told cosmetic product facilities, retailers, and industry responsible persons that the agency does not provide certificates or other documents to verify compliance for cosmetic product facility registration. The registration page repeats the point for both facility registration and product listing. Cosmetic product facility registration and cosmetic product listing is not a cosmetic approval program and is not a promotional tool. The assignment of a facility registration number or product listing number does not indicate FDA approval of the facility or its cosmetic products.

The update says the FDA does not provide:

  • a certificate as proof of cosmetic product facility registration or cosmetic product listing
  • a verification document, such as a letter or email, stating a facility is registered or a cosmetic product is listed
  • a document, such as a certificate, letter, or email, confirming a facility or responsible person is not required to register or list cosmetic products with the FDA

The same update says the FDA knows that ecommerce platforms, such as TikTok Shop, sometimes ask sellers for proof of FDA registration or, if they are not required to register, a letter or email from the FDA confirming an exemption. Those are the papers the update says the FDA does not provide. If a seller offers you one of those three documents and calls it an FDA certificate or FDA exemption letter, do not enter it as FDA approval. Note what the seller handed you, and leave the approval cell blank.

A stack of blank paper beside three unlabeled white pump bottles on a gray table.
A stack of blank paper beside three unlabeled pump bottles on a gray table.

The registration page’s summary table, with data as of June 30, 2026, reports 16,398 unique active facility registrations and 1,298,361 unique active product listings since December 18, 2023. A number in that system is one filing among those counts. It is still not the approval the update says the program does not grant. The page links to Form FDA 5066, Registration of Cosmetic Product Facility, and Form FDA 5067, Cosmetic Product Listing. This record does not describe the fields on those forms. It also points to an FDA decision tool for whether someone must register a facility. The tool’s questions were not part of the pages read here, so an exemption answer does not come from this page.

Common mistake: Asking the FDA for a registration certificate or an exemption letter, then treating silence or a refusal as a defect in the seller. The September 9, 2026 update says the agency does not provide those documents.

Takeaway: Write a registration number or a listing number only when a document for this order shows it, and do not label that number as FDA approval.

Record the seller’s authenticity sentence as a claim

JNI Wholesale’s homepage, captured October 11, 2026, says: “We strive to bring authentic and new products to all sorts of customers. After being in the health and beauty business for over 20 years, we offer brands and product that we trust.” That is JNI’s sentence about JNI. Put it on the record as JNI’s claim if you are buying from JNI. It does not establish brand authorization, facility registration, or the condition of a batch. It does not transfer to another wholesaler. For any other seller, copy that seller’s sentence or write “not stated.”

Brand authorization is a separate cell. A catalog UPC does not establish it. The authorized distributor guide is where this site separates a brand’s permission from open-market wholesaling. On this cosmetic record, authorization stays blank until you have written scope for this product and this seller.

Takeaway: File the authenticity sentence under the seller’s claim. Leave authorization blank until a document states the scope.

Leave batch, date, and exemption blank until this order states them

The FDA pages read here do not say that every cosmetic package must show an expiration date. Ask the seller for the batch or lot code and any date on this shipment. If the reply or the package does not give one, the cell stays blank. Do not borrow a date from a different SKU on the same listing.

The two-unit minimum on the Always Radiant line is that listing’s text on the capture date. It is not a minimum for cosmetics in general. A renewal interval of two years belongs to a facility registration, not to your resale account. Identity of the invoicing business, payment instructions, and whether the seller is the company it claims to be are covered in how to verify a wholesale supplier before you pay. This page does not repeat those steps and does not certify the seller.

Takeaway: Batch, package date, and exemption stay blank until the package or the seller’s written reply for this order fills them.

Save the record and send the blanks to the seller

Here is the same record filled from the pages captured on October 11, 2026. It shows how to copy public wording. It is not a completed purchase.

Field What those pages support Status for an actual order
Catalog identifiers Contarmarket lines show SKU, UPC, pack count, and price. One price line names Always Thin Regular Liners, Fresh Scent, 20 count, 24 pack, at $34.00 with a $36.05 regular price, near SKU 08279. Quantity controls with that product name are followed by SKU 08280, UPC 037000426899, and $1.42 each. The capture does not tie the $34.00 line to SKU 08280. Copy the strings on the line you are buying. Leave a cell blank when the listing does not show it.
Name on the label FDA’s definition uses the manufacturer, packer, or distributor named on the cosmetic label. The catalog capture does not show that name. Blank until you read the label
Registration or listing number A number is not FDA approval. FDA does not issue a certificate, verification letter, or exemption confirmation for it. Blank unless a document for this order shows the number. Do not relabel it as approval.
Authenticity JNI’s homepage claims authentic, new products and more than 20 years in health and beauty. JNI’s claim if the seller is JNI. Otherwise blank or that seller’s own sentence.
Brand authorization None of the four pages states a brand’s written scope for a reseller. Blank
Batch, package date, exemption threshold Not stated in the passages read here. The small-business exemption is named without a sales figure. Blank

Save that sheet with the listing, the label, and the seller’s reply. Send every blank line to the business that would invoice the order, and wait for the written answer before you pay. National Wholesalers does not check labels or contact sellers on readers’ behalf.

Takeaway: The finished record is the listing, the label, and the seller’s written answers, kept together.

When this page does not apply

Use this record for a cosmetic whose documents you can put on one sheet. Other purchases need other pages:

  • An OTC drug, a device, or a dietary supplement is outside this sheet. The FDA passage notes exemptions for certain products and facilities already covered by drug and device requirements. It does not turn this checklist into a drug, device, or supplement record.
  • Whether a seller has a brand’s permission is the authorized distributor guide. This page leaves that cell blank.
  • Whether the invoicing company is the company named on the listing is a separate identity check, in how to verify a wholesale supplier.
  • This page does not rank health and beauty wholesalers, and it does not decide that a catalog line is a cosmetic.

Takeaway: Stay on this page for the cosmetic document sheet, and use the linked guides for brand permission and for the seller’s identity.

Method and sources

The sentences above come from four public pages captured on October 11, 2026: FDA’s September 9, 2026 constituent update, FDA’s cosmetic facility registration and product listing page, Contarmarket’s health and beauty wholesale collection, and JNI Wholesale’s homepage. National Wholesalers did not buy a cosmetic, submit a registration, or test a product. Where a page does not state a figure, the record leaves the cell blank. The photographs show unlabeled containers and blank paper on a table. They are not a named seller’s goods or documents.

Takeaway: Treat the copied sentences as that page’s wording on the capture date, and replace any line the seller updates in writing for your order.

Frequently asked questions

Does an FDA cosmetic facility registration number mean the product is approved?

No. FDA's registration and listing page, and its September 9, 2026 constituent update, say facility registration and product listing are not a cosmetic approval program. The assignment of a facility registration number or a product listing number does not indicate FDA approval of the facility or its cosmetic products.

Will the FDA send a letter confirming that a cosmetic facility is registered or exempt?

No. The September 9, 2026 update says the FDA does not provide a certificate of registration or listing, a letter or email stating that a facility is registered or a product is listed, or a document confirming that a facility or responsible person is not required to register or list. Leave that cell blank. Do not ask the FDA for those papers.

Does a UPC on a health and beauty wholesale listing prove the seller is authorized?

No. Contarmarket's health and beauty collection, captured October 11, 2026, shows SKU, UPC, pack count, and price on catalog lines. Those fields do not state brand authorization. Use the authorized-distributor check for permission from a brand, and leave authorization blank on this record until the seller writes the scope for this product.

Sources

  1. FDA Clarifies It Does Not Provide Certificates or Other Documents to Verify Compliance for Cosmetic Product Facility Registration — U.S. Food and Drug Administration Accessed October 11, 2026.
  2. Registration & Listing of Cosmetic Product Facilities and Products — U.S. Food and Drug Administration Accessed October 11, 2026.
  3. Health & Beauty Wholesale — Contarmarket Accessed October 11, 2026.
  4. JNI Wholesale — JNI Wholesale Accessed October 11, 2026.

About the author

U.S. Wholesale Trade & Regulatory Research

U.S. wholesale distribution, FDA FSMA import compliance, supplier verification, and commercial freight operations research.